Global Liberal Arts Core Curriculum Committee

The Global Liberal Arts Core Curriculum (GLACC) Committee is a standing committee of the Faculty Senate, and reports directly to Faculty Senate. The Committee鈥檚 role is to ensure coherence, and continuity in the 听BT天堂鈥檚 core curriculum, in accordance with the educational goals of the institution.

The GLACC Committee, in consultation with the Provost, is responsible for developing, maintaining and assessing this part of the undergraduate curriculum.

  1. Development. The GLACC Committee articulates the learning outcomes of the core curriculum and encourages faculty, departments, programs and Academic Affairs to bring forth new proposals designed to strengthen general education at the University.
  2. Maintenance. The GLACC Committee oversees the various structural elements and learning outcomes of the core curriculum, in close cooperation with the Provost and the Office of Academic Affairs.
  3. Assessment. The GLACC Committee reviews and analyzes faculty and student feedback pertaining to the core curriculum and to its learning outcomes. It collaborates with departments and programs who contribute to the core curriculum in order to review and assess the effectiveness of these offerings in the context of educational goals of the institution.

The GLACC Committee also provides guidelines and standards for submission of new core curriculum courses, proposals and programs. It cooperates with the office of the Registrar to establish guidelines for the attribution of core curriculum designations of transfer credit, and advises the office of the Registrar on cases which are not covered by these guidelines. The GLACC Committee cooperates with the Curriculum Committee to coordinate core curriculum requirements with other program requirements.

The GLACC Committee is composed of five voting members. Four voting members are elected; the Provost appoints one of the five voting members. All voting members serve once-renewable, staggered, two-year terms. The GLACC听Committee will also have 2 ex-officio members: the Provost of the University or his/her representative; the University Librarian or his/her representative.

If you want to make a submission to the GLACC Committee, you can consult the Curricular Proposal Documents page .听

2023-2024 members of the GLACC听Committee and their respective departments
Member Department
Emre 脟a臒layan Communication, Media and Culture
Biswamit Dwibedy Comparative Literature and English
No茅mie Oxley Communication, Media and Culture
Sophie Kurkdjian Communication, Media and Culture
Zed Zhipeng Gao Psychology, Health and Gender
Michael Stoepel Library
Raphael Bloch-Laine French Studies and Modern Languages
Christine Tomasek Associate Dean for Academic Administration
Lorie MacKenzie University Registrar
Kate Zhang Economics and Management